CTDPworld Forums

The community, the place to discuss

Skip to content

New PC

Ain't the weather nice? Aren't politicians stupid? Computers suck and Formula One used to be way better …

Moderators: CoDan, AndreasT

New PC

Postby AndreasT » Tue Jul 14, 2009 8:05 pm

During my last race on Nürburgring I encountered (not for the first time) the problem that some FF effects (or one of the plugins?) did not work when too many cars were around. I was also annoyed by the fact that especially the start is even more difficult due to some occasional stuttering. Choosing between the option to reduce graphics settings and buying a new piece of expensive hardware I'm starting to like the latter more and more. :D

So one of my questions would be if there are known serious issues with rF and Windows Vista 64bit? Has anyone already tested rF on Windows 7 RC? I don't have any clue how to get rF running with 3 monitors, but I guess for that you will need an SLI solution.

Thanks for your comments in advance!!
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby Neidryder » Tue Jul 14, 2009 9:43 pm

Well at least for rFactor you should by ATI/AMD graphics card. Nvidia has some serious problems with the latest drivers. There are a lot of ppl with nvidia problems with rF, GTR Evo and another ISI Engine based title i can't remember.

I'm running rF on Vista x64 without any trouble. I think Gonzo has rFactor running on Windows 7,too so that should work ;).

And about multi GPU systems. I had one with 2 HD3870 and i'm not a fan of that stuff. I would by a HD4890 Superclocked with 1GHZ Chip clock and 1GB Ram. That's the best choice when until the first DX11 cards are coming.
Neidryder
Fanboy
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: BAYERN

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Tue Jul 14, 2009 11:54 pm

Thanks for your reply. I'll take this driver thing into account. And I'm also not a fan of SLI systems. Just thought (as I would by a new monitor too) I could try and the same I already have, which should be quite cheap. Then there would be no problems with mirrors and I would not have to activate the virtual mirror in the center for cockpit view.
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby Neidryder » Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:06 am

Neidryder
Fanboy
 
Posts: 2703
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2001 1:00 pm
Location: BAYERN

Re: New PC

Postby Gonzo » Wed Jul 15, 2009 4:36 pm

i was using vista from the beginning up to early 2009 without any serious issues.
Vista x64 Ultimate.
Sincs Windows 7 RC1 is out (Build 7100) i am using Windows 7, all i can say that it is just great ;).

Through a mistake from me (i had to hurry up) i flashed my bios and destroyed it ;).

Asus Rampage II Extreme
12 GB OZC DDR3 PC 1600 Ram CL7
120 GB OCZ Vertex SSD
2x 1000 GB Samsung Spinpoint F1
Intel Core i7 975 Extreme Edition @ 4,0 Ghz
Ati HD 4870X2 GPU
Creativ Fatal1ty Gamer
2x Samsung 26" (2693 HM)
Digital Everywhere Floppy DTV S2 TV/Sat
Logitech G25, G15, G9
AKG K701 Studio-Reference Headphone
Logitech Desktop Microphone
Coolermaster Cosmos S Case
soon.... a watercooling system....



As Andy said, the best choice is a 4890, i ve seen that for around 165€uros, and that is an incredible good price.
Ati is the best choice for ISI sims in the last years.
Also a phenom II has the best power for the price right now, i dont know how much you want to spend for the new stuff?!
User avatar
Gonzo
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:12 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:52 pm

Actually, I would like to spend something between 1.5 to 2k€. That means I won't go for a real highend solution, and I've never purchased the most expensive CPU. However, this time I will not buy single parts and put them together myself. I know a reliable shop with a good price level and a bunch of enthusiasts that will be glad and motivated to build an "above-average system".

I've also read threads in another forum that discusses issues with recent NVidia drivers. As far as I remember people complained about stuttering ingame despite their highend hardware. In this specific shop I mentioned above (if this will be my choice in the end) I could of course ask whether I can replace the graphics board in case of trouble or I choose the cheaper ATI card for now.
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby Gonzo » Wed Jul 15, 2009 7:56 pm

i would go for a socket 1366 and a core i 7 of your choice, 6 gb or 12 gb ddr 3 1600 memory (depends on how much you need), ati 4890 a solid enermaxx 500 watts liberty ps, and a asus motherboard with x58 chipset.
all i can say i love the rampage II extreme board, tons of features, but if you dont want that you dont have to spend 330€ for a motherboard.
i think you wont need more than 1500€ for a rock solid system.
1000 should be enough.
User avatar
Gonzo
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:12 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Wed Jul 15, 2009 8:08 pm

THX. Sounds good. Most important is that I will have the new stuff before my holidays start. :D
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Thu Jul 16, 2009 7:35 pm

By the way, one more question. Any known issues with resolutions of 1920x1080 or 1920x1200? I also want to buy a new monitor, 22" or 24".
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby Gonzo » Thu Jul 16, 2009 10:38 pm

i am using 2x 1920*1200*60 here without any issues.
Two Samsung 26" 2693HM.
User avatar
Gonzo
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 3:12 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Fri Jul 17, 2009 12:26 am

That gives a total resolution of 3840x1200. Ever considered using 3 of these beasts? :)
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:39 pm

Today my new monitor arrived. After some reading (reviews and more or less useful comments in different forums) I had decided to go for the same screen Gonzo has (but only one of them!). And if you consider that I used to have a ... 17" screen :lol: ... this one is really a huge step that I will have to "digest" over the next days. Hopefully my PC will be ready this weekend and then I just have to get rid of my lousy pedals that needed to be fixed now for the 2nd time.
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:18 pm

Hi there, I'm just coming from RSC where I was looking for some information on multiple installs. But as I was not what I'd like to call successful I have decided to bother you with 2 questions.

Now that my PC is finally complete I had the idea of having separate installs for each mod + the full SVN until v1.2 is released. I was thinking of taking rF lite for that purpose. Just an install as small as possible + 1 mod and then a set of locations folders, e.g. for F1 or CART tracks, which I can use for each mod.

1) As I own a DVD version I would like to know if I can simply copy my exe file over that of the rF lite install or is there more to do?
2) Can I have several of such installs on the same partition or could this cause trouble? I guess it should work fine, but I already had strange issues with rF in the past.

Thanks a lot in advance!! :)
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm

Re: New PC

Postby SLN » Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:34 pm

1) It should work. Give it a try? Keep a backup of the original EXE to be safe?
2) Yes.
SLN
Asphaltnuckel
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 10:39 am
Location: Wilrijk, Belgium

Re: New PC

Postby AndreasT » Sat Aug 01, 2009 7:56 pm

Seems to be no problem so far. And playing with my new piece of hardware is so much more fun! At last I can set all details to full and run the full grid at 1920x1200. WOW! :D
User avatar
AndreasT
Fanboy
 
Posts: 1192
Joined: Sun May 17, 2009 4:16 pm


Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron